Posted by: Fiona Skye | 1 December 2009

The End is only the Beginning

Orange Badge of Accomplishment

I did it.  I won NaNoWriMo.  I wrote 50,000+ words in 30 days.  (The final official count is 50,348 words, 124 pages, nineteen chapters.)  It might be understandable that I should now rest on my laurels and bask in the glow of having successfully undertaken such a monumental task.  But no;  50,000 words do not a novel make.  Juliana’s story is not yet complete and so, December is my unofficial NAtional FInish MY NOvel MOnth* – hereafter referred to by its acronym NAFIMYNOMO.  Hmmm…upon further thought, I think the acronym needs some help.

Anyway, my next goal is to write at least 35,000 words during December and have the zero draft completed and out to beta readers right after the new year.  Hopefully the beta readers will have their thoughts back to me by March , so I can begin the revision process – for me, the hardest part of the Writing Odyssey, and the part that I will need the most encouragement with.

Sure, there were a couple of times during this past month when the story was dragging or when I just didn’t feel that my writing was up to snuff or when I didn’t know where to go next with the story.  I wanted to quit then, pack it in and say, “Oh, well.  There’s always next year.”  I didn’t, though.  When it got awful and painful, I wrote through it.  I’m sure I’ll look back on those parts in March and curse myself, but the sense of accomplishment that I feel now will surely outshine my overwhelming desire to strangle myself then.  Hopefully.

You see, revisions are the bane of my existence.  I don’t know if it’s because I find it hard to delete words that I agonised over, if it’s because I have a hard time letting go of things, or if it’s just because I’m inherently lazy, but I hate doing revisions.  I really am not looking forward to performing the endless changes that will be necessary to transform my zero draft into something that I actually feel somewhat confident in sending out queries for.

2010 will be a tough year for me as far as the Writing Odyssey goes.  So, if you see me futzing about too much on Twitter or posting more than one blog a day, give me a swift kick in the arse and tell me to get back to my revisions.  But be gentle with your kicking – I bruise easily.

* (NaFiThNoMo?  NaCoMyNoMo?  NaFiYoNoMo?  NaNoCoMo?  Oh, never mind.)

Responses

  1. InNaFiNoMo for me as well! (I made it international, as I’m Italian…) By December 31 we have to wrap up those novels!
    Happy writing!! 😀

  2. […] } The NaNoWriMo is over, and Fiona has won it. I didn’t sign up, but I know I wrote those 50000words too.  But, as she says, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

