Posted by: Fiona Skye | 18 November 2009

Perfect Hump Day

What’s a perfect Wednesday for you?

For me, it’s pretty basic.  It starts with everyone home at 5:30.  Dinner’s usually at 6:30 – tonight it was grilled chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, and biscuits.  Then I made some hot mulled apple cider in my slow cooker.  While it was warming, we all watched a movie together.  Even Boy Child who seems to have the attention span of a flea watched it from beginning to end.  Finally, after being tortured with the heavenly smells of cider wafting through the house, it was hot.  We all had mugs of it, along with apple bread I made this week-end.  Then it was bedtime for Boy Child, who put on his Buzz Lightyear pyjamas, distributed kisses to me and The Man and then trundled off to bed.  Girl Child and I scoured the internet, looking for Thanksgiving colouring pages to print, colour and hang in the big picture window in our living room.  We coloured together for an hour and then she had her shower and went off to bed.  Now, I’m going to watch Fantasia (I’ve been craving the music lately) and sip some more cider.  After the movie’s over, I’ll slip between my brand-new, washed in lavender-scented detergent and dried in the sun, 300-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets, snuggle with The Man and at least two cats and fall asleep.

Occasionally, a simple life filled with the joys of family, good food and time spent with my kids is the closest thing to Heaven.

Leave a Reply

Categories

